The general standard of state education in Canada is high, and both permanent residents and those on work permits can enroll their children in local schools for free.

Education in Canada is divided into primary, secondary and post-secondary education. Within the provinces under the Ministry of Education, there are district school boards administering educational programs.

Education is compulsory up to the age of 16 in every province in Canada, except for Manitoba, Ontario, and New Brunswick, where the compulsory age is 18, or as soon as a high school diploma has been achieved.

The provincially-funded public education system, Kindergarten to Grade 12, is offered through a dual system of English and French schools.


There are seven school districts in the province of New Brunswick. Fredericton is in the Anglophone West School District. There are 68 schools within this district including elementary schools, middle schools and high schools.

To find out what schools are within your home district and to find out more about school information and transportation eligibility, click here.

The following French Second Language Programs are offered in Anglophone West School District:

  • Grade 1 Entry French Immersion Program
  • Grade 6 Entry Late French Immersion Program
  • Intensive French Program

For more information on French Second Language Programs, click here.

There are two public high schools in Fredericton, Leo Hayes High School and Fredericton High School

French Schools

Fredericton is within the District Scolaire Francophone Sud. This South West School District is the largest French-speaking district within New Brunswick and has 37 schools within large urban centres and surrounding rural communities.

There are three French schools in Fredericton

Ecole des Batissuers, a K-5 school.
Ecole les Eclaireurs, a K-8 school
Ecole Sainte Anne, a  6-12 school

There is one school in nearby Oromocto:

Ecole Arc En Ciel, a K-8 school

Private Schools

There are a number of private elementary schools in and around Fredericton:

Fredericton Christian Academy
Our Lady of Grace Private Catholic School
Riverside Montessori Learning Centre

Universities and Colleges

Fredericton is home to four universities (2 public and 2 private on-line) and three colleges. The University of New Brunswick  is Canada’s oldest English language university.


University of New Brunswick
St. Thomas University
University of Fredericton (on-line)
Yorkville University (on-line)


Maritime College of Forestry Technology
New Brunswick Community College
New Brunswick College of Craft & Design

There are also a number of private sector training institutions in Fredericton offering a wide variety of programs.