10 Facts About Canada

  1. Geography: Canada is the world's second-largest country by total area, and the fourth-largest country by land extending from the Atlantic to the Pacific and northward into the Arctic Ocean, covering 9.98 million square kilometres (3.85 million square miles). Canada's southern border with the United States is the world's longest bi-national land border.
  2. Population: 37 million. The majority of Canada's population is concentrated in the areas close to the Canada–US border. Its four largest provinces by population are Ontario, Quebec, British Columbia, & Alberta.
  3. Cities: The capital city of Canada is Ottawa, and its three largest metropolitan areas are Toronto, Montreal, and Vancouver. It has ten provinces - Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan - and three territories - Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.
  4. Economy: Canada’s advanced economy is the tenth-largest in the world, relying chiefly upon its abundant natural resources and well-developed international trade networks.
  5. Political system: Canada is a parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy, which means that the Head of State is the current ruling UK monarch. The Prime Minister is the Head of Government. Canada's Parliament is composed of the Senate and the House of Commons. Elections are held every four years. In Canada, there are three levels of government: Federal, Provincial, and Municipal.
  6. Official languages: English and French.
  7. Driving: on the right.
  8. Currency: CAD Canadian Dollar.
  9. National Anthem: “O Canada.”
  10. Motto: A Mari Usque Ad Mare (Latin) English: "From Sea to Sea."

International Embassies in Canada