About Ontario

With a population of more than 14 million, Ontario is home to about 2 in 5 Canadians. The nation's capital city, Ottawa, and the most populous city, Toronto, are both in Ontario. More than 98% of Ontario residents live within the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River Basin. The Great Lakes combined hold one-fifth of the world's fresh surface water. 40 % of the approximately 250,000 people who immigrate to Canada each year choose to settle in Ontario.

Toronto has been called the most multicultural city in the world, where more than 100 languages and dialects are spoken. Languages other than English often spoken at home in Ontario include Chinese, Italian, German, Polish, Spanish, Punjabi, Ukrainian and Portuguese. Aboriginal peoples – First Nation, Métis and Inuit – make up about 2% of Ontario’s population and about one-fifth of all Aboriginal people in Canada. First Nations peoples in Ontario include Algonquian-speaking Cree, Oji-Cree, Algonquin, Ojibwa, Odawa, Potawatomi and Delaware, plus the Iroquoian-speaking Six Nations (Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga, Seneca and Tuscarora).

Ontario generates 37% of the national GDP and is home to almost 50% of all employees in high tech, financial services and other knowledge-intensive industries. The majority of Ontario is in the Eastern Time Zone (GMT +5 hours).